Advanced

What 3D printer should I buy as a beginner and some general questions. Aka: Don't know what subreddit I'd post this on, so maybe you guys can help me.

Posted by DanielD 
So I was looking for a good 3D printer. Here are my requirements:
1.Decently reliable. I'm new to this so I'd prefer to have something that's pretty stable. I'd like to achieve a balance between reliability and print quality, favoring reliability. I'm not expecting a plug and play solution but i'd prefer a printer that's pretty beginner friendly with decent print quality. I'd also like something with a decent community so if I have any problems I can ask for help on a forum or something.
2.Budget is about $1000. I'd prefer a cheaper printer with less bells and whistles over an expensive printer with everything but the kitchen sink.
3.Software compatibility with Linux (this is important.)
4.Support for most common filaments would be nice too. PLA, ABS ect...

I was looking at the Monoprice Select Mini V2 which I've heard is a pretty good printer for the price and is nice and compact.

I'll mostly be using the printer for little enclosures for things like the Raspberry Pi boards and things of that nature, but I might also print some aesthetic pieces as well.
Thanks in advanced.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 12/06/2018 07:58AM by DanielD.
Compatibility with Lunix will be your hardest one to get to work, but I believe Cura does work on Linux.

For a grand or less, the Prusa MK3 cannot be beat (or whatever MK they are on now). Link HERE

Proper mesh bed leveling, open source, great community, magnetic build plate, etc.